You Had A Bad Day

Life is short; I wanna live it well
One life, one story to tell
Life is short; I wanna live it well
And you’re the one I’m living for
Awaken all my soul
Every breath that you take is a miracle
Life is short; I wanna live it well, yeah

Live it Well – Switchfoot

You might have noticed that I start all my posts with lyrics from a song that applies to the post in some way, you can thank me later for not quoting Daniel Powter. Anyway let’s talk about bad days. Haven’t we all had a bad day? I mean my last post came about with news of a death, so I have had recent bad days. I have grown to realize that life is quite streaky, it seems that we get a string of good days followed by a stretch of bad ones (am I the only one who thinks the bad ones last longer?). Another observation I have made is that no matter how good a day starts, a very tiny event can derail it. Conversely, a bad day seems extremely hard to fix no matter how good our surroundings are. Why is there this stark difference? Is the bad just that much worse than the good on a day to day basis? Are we completely stubborn? Do we like the pain? I really don’t know the answer to those questions, but I know that there needs to be some kind of solution to these looming bad days.

Okay so I’m sure you have noticed all my annoying italics every time I use the words good or bad, and you are probably thinking to yourself ‘…here Gil goes trying to make another point that will revolutionize everything’… well I hope that is true, and yes I am sort of pretentious, but this is my blog after all. Why am I drawing attention to those words? Well because I think we are maybe misunderstanding both words. A good start might be to define these words, that way I can do away with the italics. So what is bad? We know it is the opposite of good. That still doesn’t quite define it though. Well what about good? Well as cheesy or Sunday school that this sounds, good is God. I am struggling to define these words, which I suppose proves my point a little bit. 

James 1:17 says “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” (NIV), and then Matthew 19:17 says ““Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, keep the commandments.” (NIV). So God is good and goodness comes only from Him, this is why our definition of good must start with Him. Now in contrast of the very deep reality of God equals good,we have the extremely shallow notion that our happiness equals goodness. English is weird, and we use the same word for way too many things and I am beginning to think it confuses us. Sometimes the word bad just means inadequate. Like a broken car air condition that no longer serves it’s purpose and now does an inadequate job we look at bad days as inadequate and no longer serving our needs. Whoa, stop there. Life was never meant to serve us.

Today babies were born. Today people died. Today people got married. Today people got divorced. Some are struggling for food, and others are laughing during their favourite movie. One woman might be seeing her favourite band live for the first time, while another might have just found out she will never be able to give birth to her own child. When I say today is bad because of the events in my personal day I am essentially making myself centre of the universe. And yes that is harsh, guess what, reality is harsh. Each day is so much bigger than me. We all must come to the honest conclusion that today is not meant to serve us, but today we are meant to serve. 1 Timothy 4:4 says “For everything created by God is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving,” (ESV). 

I think that words have power, and I think that if we say out loud “today is a bad day” then it definitely will be. Sure sometimes life happens and it is hard to see the good, sure we aren’t always gonna have happy days. But we must look past it all. Yes there are easy days, and many hard days, but God is good in every day. There is a quote that I love from U2 frontman Bono, he talks about when he was young and would ask God to bless his work and his songs, he goes on to say he received advice that changed his life in this time from a “wise man” an here is that advice, “… this wise man said ’Stop.’ He said ’Stop asking God to bless what you’re doing. get involved in what God is doing – because it’s already blessed.” 

Each day is meant for us to serve, God is always good, let’s join Him today.

Rock on
Fish

Leave a Reply

