Worship

I was born
I was born to sing for you
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And sing whatever song you wanted me to
I give you back my voice
From the womb my first cry, it was a joyful noise
Magnificent – U2

This post is going to in quite a different format than usual. I read some scripture recently that hit me in a really good way and I honestly just want to share it. After this Psalm I will have a small thought to share, but nothing too heavy. Just before I drop the scripture here I want to ask two things: put aside any past qualms you have with The Message (if you have any) and please try hear what God has to say in this moment, and before reading please say a quick prayer that your eyes might be open to a new understanding of worship. Without further ado, here it is;

Psalm 92 (MSG)

A Sabbath Song

What a beautiful thing, God, to give thanks,
    to sing an anthem to you, the High God!
To announce your love each daybreak,
    sing your faithful presence all through the night,
Accompanied by dulcimer and harp,
    the full-bodied music of strings.

You made me so happy, God
    I saw your work and I shouted for joy.
How magnificent your work, God!
    How profound your thoughts!
Dullards never notice what you do;
    fools never do get it.
When the wicked popped up like weeds
    and all the evil men and women took over,
You mowed them down,
    finished them off once and for all.
You, God, are High and Eternal.
    Look at your enemies, God!
Look at your enemies—ruined!
    Scattered to the winds, all those hirelings of evil!

But you’ve made me strong as a charging bison,
    you’ve honored me with a festive parade.
The sight of my critics going down is still fresh,
    the rout of my malicious detractors.
My ears are filled with the sounds of promise:
    “Good people will prosper like palm trees,
Grow tall like Lebanon cedars;
    transplanted to God’s courtyard,
They’ll grow tall in the presence of God,
    lithe and green, virile still in old age.”

Such witnesses to upright God!
    My Mountain, my huge, holy Mountain!

A story that I like telling from my time with YWAM is about true worship. There was this one time that I had an assignment that must have been at least a month overdue, and my negligence had finally gotten to me and I decided it was time to put my head down and work… starting next week of course. Monday morning I woke up extra early with the intention of getting a solid chunk of work done, but it was then that I realized I hadn’t picked up my Bible in maybe a month and I was supposed to be a missionary or something so that didn’t add up. I probably spent about two hours reading my bible and singing praise to God and I left feeling ever so holy. The next day I woke up even earlier, but I thought maybe it would be best to start my day with God, at least that must be what he would want. This continued. After two or three days again I woke up early but started to neglect homework because time with God was more important. It was then that I felt a feeling wash over me that was unmistakably the Holy Spirt. This feeling said to me “Gil, when you use me as an excuse to avoid your responsibility you are not worshipping me. Go write your paper as that is much more worship to me.” This shook me up. First of all, is God allowed to say no reading your Bible? And second, He was right… I had been avoiding my work so hard that I began to use even Him as an excuse. You see God is a jealous God and wants all of our hearts. Whether it is homework or devos He wants our true heart. I hear so many people saying that “worship music isn’t the only form of worship” but then go to a worship service Saturday night because they haven’t felt God lately. Marriage might be one of the most memorable days for a newly married couple but as soon as life get’s mundane they don’t go and get married all over again, they find ways to love each other in the new reality. Go on read the Psalm again sometime this week, in a different version if you want, and think of a new way to worship, a raw, true, responsible way. And most importantly, a way that is you, because He loves you.

Rock on
Fish

 

Leave a Reply

